Marc Altman Photography Blog

A photographic sketchpad

Extended Thursday: In the beginning…

leave a comment »

I know, I know, I know:  I haven’t posted a single thing since my 2010 recap, almost two months ago!  Bear with me, dear readers, because I’ve seen the error of my ways and I vow to be better.  I’ve been cranking away at tons of new content, some of which can be seen on my recently updated website.  There’s a lot more still in the works, and I’ve committed myself to regular blog posts moving forward.  A “March 2011 resolution”, if you will.

So without further ado, I’m announcing a new series.  Every Thursday until I run out of material, I’m going to post a new addition to my “Extensions” series.  I plan on showing early examples of the concept in my work, through to the Extensions premier at the David Strawn Gallery, and onwards to new pieces that have been shot but not yet pieced together.  This is very much a sketchpad of photographic ideas, and I welcome any and all feedback.

Starting from the beginning – way back in 2006 – here are a few examples of my very first attempts at extending space and time in my photography:

(And yes, that’s me looking at the parasols.)

Stay tuned for more extensions, as well as other bits and pieces from my photographic life…

Written by Marc Altman

March 3, 2011 at 4:23 pm

Leave a Reply

